Tuesday, January 24, 2012

2012 Flickerfest Winners Accounced Plus...Flickerfest Hits The Road


Movies TV Bondi Beach



After a highly successful 10 day festival in Sydney with capacity crowds and fabulous parties in the Pavilion bar, Flickerfest Australia’s leading short film festival, announced its International and Australian awards at a star-studded ceremony at the Bondi Pavilion, Bondi Beach.

Across the 10 days Flickerfest audiences were treated to a selection of award winning short films from Australia & across the world, selected from 2200 entries with audiences experiencing various cultures and a range of Australian stories all united by their creativity, innovation & excellence in the short film form.

Attended by celebrated guests from the Australian and the International film industry, the Closing Night ceremony honoured those entrants with award-winning films within the Academy®Accredited competition.

And the winners are:

Movie Network Channels Award for Best Australian Short Film ‘The Palace’ wr/dir Anthony Maras, prods Kate Croser, Anthony Maras, Andros Achilleos

Icebergs Dining Room & Bar Award for Best Direction in an Australian Short Film ‘Bear’ dir Nash Edgerton, prod Lauren Edwards & John Polson

The SMH Award for Best Australian Screenplay ‘Cockatoo’ wr/dir Matthew Jenkin, prods Matthew Jenkin & Oliver Leimbach

Yoram Gross Award for Best Animation ‘It’s Such A Beautiful Day’ wr/dir Don Hertzfeldt(USA)* Academy ®Accredited

ING DIRECT Award for Best Short Film ‘Ebony Society’ wr/dir Tammy Davis, prods Ainsley Gardiner & Chelsea Winstanley(New Zealand) *Academy® Accredited


Flickerfest International Short Film Festival kicked off it's 37 venue national tour in Byron this past weekend.

Celebrated it's 21st birthday in style, & it's 14th year in the Byron region being hosted by the IQ Arts & Eco Centre; with over 1100 people attending over 4 sessions.

A highlight of the shorts packed weekend was the 4th Annual Byron All Shorts - Northern Rivers Short Film Competition, of which 14 finalists films were screened from over 50 local entrants;

The audience as well as the jury, consisting of Emma Moroney, former Supervising Producer from
Movie Network Channel. Bronwyn Kidd, documentary maker and Flickerfest Director, Kathleen
Drumm who helms Screen Australia’s diverse marketing activities across theatrical and innovative distribution. Nerida Moore Screen NSW’s Senior Development and Production Executive and Lisa
Shaunessy independent producer, formerly the Creative Executive at Hugh Jackman’s Seed Productions awarded the following:

The iQ-Flickerfest Jury Award for Best Short Film went to SAE students for 'The Cottage', a moving story about the homeless in Byron Bay, Dir Lorraine Bell / Prod: Rani Willis.

A Special Mention of the Jury went to 'Face Value' by Ellie Alford from SCU- an innovative story about the dangers of internet predators.

The Essential Energy Audience Award went to 'Shall We Dance' the Tommy Franklin story (Byron's own dancing man) by Kurt Mayes & travis Hanley.

A new prize this year, the SAE Emerging Talent Award went to 'Zombie Taco'
a very creative music video clip by the Kamikazi Katz clan, Max Quinn, Callan Brunsdon & Scott Sowter.


The National Tour Continues...

Don’t miss bite Size chunks of great cinema coming to a town near you!
Next stop on the 37 venue tour is Adelaide and Avoca on Feb 3 & 4.
Showcasing the Best in Australian, International and Avoca will also showcase the best in Comedy shorts.

AVOCA- 3/4 Feb
Friday 3rd @ 7pm- Best Of Australian Shorts
Saturday 4th @ 7pm- Best Of International Shorts
Saturday 4th @ 9pm- Best of Comedy

Friday 3rd @ 7pm- Best Of International
Saturday 4th @ 7pm- Best Of Australian

The tour continues until May so make sure you check out the touring tab at www.flickerfest.com.au for details in your state!


Highlighted films will include:

Franswa Sharl
Directed by Hannah Hillard / Winner, Audience Choice (Most Popular) Short Film, Flickerfest 2010.

Via Gori
Directed by Lazaro Hernandez / Winner, Best Direction in an Australian Short Film, Flickerfest 2011.

The Cat Piano
Directed by Ari Gibson and Eddie White / Winner, Best Animation Short Film, Flickerfest 2010.

Netherland Dwarf
Directed by David Michôd / Best Australian Short Film, Flickerfest 2009.

*contact SBS TV for screening times or additional information




Media Man News

Music News Australia

Bondi Beach Directory

Website Network

Media Man Int

Media Man

Media Man Entertainment